Sermons

Sermon Date: Sun, 03/17/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: John 4:5-42

 

Lent II, 2019

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 03/10/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: John 3:1-21

 

Lent I 2019

I sure would love to win the lottery. Oh, what I could do with a great big winning pot. Pay off the kid’s education, give to the church so we could close the struggle we have every year and invest in an education director, oh the things I could do…

Sermon Date: Sun, 03/03/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Acts 15:1-11

 

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 02/24/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Luke 6:27-38

 

 

At the end of last week’s gospel message, Jesus seemed to be on the verge of a social revolution. He said blessed are you who are poor, hungry, suffering and despised and woe to you who are rich, fat, happy and popular.

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 02/17/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Luke 6:17-26

 

 

Read Luke 6:17-19

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 02/10/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Luke 5:1-11

 

 

What is a long day like for you? Is part of the day spent asking yourself if you’ll have enough? Will you make enough to cover your family’s needs?

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 02/03/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: I Corinthians 13:1-13

 

OK, more wedding talk. How can I not with this text?

Sermon Date: Sun, 01/27/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Luke 4:14-21

 

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 01/20/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: John 2:1-11

 

Second Sunday after Epiphany 2019

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 01/13/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Luke 3:15-17, 21-22

 

Baptism of the Lord, 2019

Sermon Date: Sun, 01/06/2019 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Matthew 2:1-12

 

Epiphany 2019

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 12/23/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Matthew 2:1-12

 

Advent IV, 2018

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 12/16/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: John 1:1-18

 

Advent III, 2018

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 12/09/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Luke 2:8-20

 

Advent II, 2018

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 12/02/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Isaiah 9:2, 6-7

 

Advent I, 2018

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 11/25/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: John 18:33-37

Reign of Christ

Sermon Date: Sun, 11/18/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Matthew 6:25-33

 

OK, Confession time. Who is a worrywart?  I’m a worrywart. That’s right, I fret over stuff, lots of stuff. Ask me about the church budget. OK, don’t ask me…

Sermon Date: Sun, 11/11/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Romans 12:9-21

 

Commitment Sunday 2018

Congratulations to Linn Coghill and Tom Vaughn for completing the half marathon yesterday. I don’t know about Tom, but I do know Linn ran a personal best!

Sermon Date: Sun, 11/04/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 12:28-34

 

So, how to cover all that is going on: Liam’s Baptism, Stewardship, the election, Pittsburgh, vandalism? We start with a story:

Sermon Date: Sun, 10/28/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 10:35-45

 

Reformation Sunday 2018

How many have heard a joke about how we Presbyterians practice baptism? Sprinkling, dry-cleaning, finger-dipping, you name it, it’s out there. Of course most of these come from folks with a tradition that does not baptize children and only baptizes by immersion.

Sermon Date: Sun, 10/21/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 10:46-52

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 10/14/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 10:17-31

 

Have you ever tried to get ready for a trip, only to be interrupted over and over? It is frustrating as a deadline approaches and some pressing need or another grabs your attention. It always seems there are about a hundred things to do when we are about to leave.

Sermon Date: Sun, 10/07/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 10:2-16

 

World Communion 2018

Sermon Date: Sun, 09/30/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 9:38-50

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 09/23/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 9:30-37

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 09/16/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 8:27-38

 

Jesus asks the disciples, “Who do people say that I am?” And they answered him, “John the Baptist, some say Elijah, still others, one of the prophets.”

Jesus asks them, “But who do you say that I am?”

Sermon Date: Sun, 09/09/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 7:24-37

 

 

Wow! Now here’s a food story to grab your attention. Jesus checks out of the crowd and the hectic pace of “healer-of-the-moment” celebrity and has the most politically incorrect encounter of his ministry. A poor woman pleads for help for her daughter and he calls her a dog. What is going on here?

Sermon Date: Sun, 09/02/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Song of Solomon 2:8-17

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 08/26/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: John 6:56-69

 

 

Wow! What a day. A baptism, a new family, new officers to be ordained and installed. It is a full liturgy day. It seems the only thing missing is communion. So let’s talk about that.

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 08/19/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Joshua 24:1-2a; 14-25

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 08/12/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: I Kings 19:4-8

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 07/29/2018 Speaker: Rev Mike Clang Bible Text: John 6:1-21; Ephesians 3:14-21

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 07/22/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: I John 4:7-16

 

An old Zen parable:

Sermon Date: Sun, 07/15/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Luke 2:39-52

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 07/08/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 6:7-13

 

Camp Cuyamaca is owned by San Diego Schools. Every spring, sixth graders would descend on the camp for a full week. Sixth grade camp was a rite of passage for a generation of school children. Since 1946 over a million students have taken part in that adventure.

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 07/01/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Romans 13

 

Legend has it that when he emerged from Independence Hall, Benjamin Franklin was asked by a woman, “What kind of government are you giving us?” “A republic, Madam, if you can keep it.”

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 06/24/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 4: 35-41; Job 38:1-11

 

Fifth Sunday after Pentecost

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 06/17/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Mark 4:26-34

 

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 06/10/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: Acts 4:13-21

 

Sermon Date: Sun, 05/27/2018 Speaker: Dr. Gordon Mapes III Bible Text: II Corinthians 8:1-15

 

Trinity Sunday, 2018

Pages